LOVEHATE: A Pet Peeve For Someone Who Makes A Living Repairing Computers.

Courtesy DavidWallPhoto.com

Courtesy DavidWallPhoto.com

Even the nicest, most easy going people have a pet peeve or two. Pressing these buttons makes them frustrated, upset, or even angry. I don’t consider myself to be incredibly nice or easy going, so I can be a bit to handle when I am irked.

I have recently incorporated my computer service and construction business. Total Computers USA is a fully incorporated, taxable business and in my travels around the rather diverse Long Island I have met some very interesting people. People with very different lives, attitudes, homes and knowledge.

I have one particular client who insists on helping me. He has silvery white hair, glasses and a conversation for every topic. He has one desktop computer and several laptops. He keeps his desktop, a business machine I built about three years ago, in his den. Whenever I walk in, the cream colored chassis stairs at me, begging me to take it out of there. The monitor is usually dark and rather pitiful looking. Its small LED power light, which is supposed to be green, is a depressing amber, blinking S.O.S. in Morse code.  I walk into the den, sit down and begin my typical two hour service, resuscitating the machine that serves its owner and never asks for anything but 110 volts of electricity. Once I finish I tell Mr. X., as we will call him, that the computer is fine and that he does not need to run any special maintenance on it. “To make it easier on my customers I have all of the maintenance automated. All you need to do is enjoy it.”

Mr. X really likes to help though. He will download system cleansers, anti-spy ware programs and anything else he feels is important from any site on the internet. Are you sure you want delete <insert vitally important system file here>? Mr. X. grabs the mouse and clicks OK, smiling that he has accomplished something.

THE SYSTEM HAS BECOME UNSTABLE AND HAS SHUTDOWN TO PROTECT YOUR DATA. IF THIS IS THE FIRST TIME YOU ARE SEEING THIS MESSAGE PLEASE RESTART THE COMPUTER. IF THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME YOU ARE SEEING THIS SCREEN PLEASE CONTACT  YOUR  ADMINISTRATOR FOR ASSISTANCE.

A blue screen with white letters engulfs his 17-inch black LCD monitor. Mr. X. rolls his chair over to the phone and dials. “Hello, TC? Hi this is Mr. X. Listen, there was this ad on this um. . . site that I was on. I clicked it because it said it would erase my tracking cookies. But now there is this blue screen. Do  you want me to read it to you? It says error code: ABCDEFHIJKLMNOP1234649843625131. Can you fix it?”

In my experience I have found that most computer problems are rooted between the chair and the monitor. I am actually working to develop a special screwdriver that will help me tighten the nut that tends to go loose behind the keyboard.

In all honesty I do not hate people in need, nor do I hate this client. What really bothers me is that people with a little bit of knowledge decide to do things that they do not fully understand. They then become annoyed with me when it is not a quick fix, or a repeating problem. I feel like telling them “If you would just listen to me the goddamn thing wouldnt’ break!” In the end I can’t complain however, it keeps me busy and my wallet full.

~ by jrn320tmccarthy on March 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
